iChat tip : MSN in ichat

Posted on January 14, 2008. Filed under: ichat tip, mac tip |

iChat is a great chat application but it you can’t add MSN contacts, but there’s a trick to do this via Jabber.

Since Mac os x Tiger iChat has Jabber support which indirectly supports other messaging protocols like MSN, ICQ, AIM and IRC.

What is Jabber?

Jabber is an open alternative to consumer IM services. Unlike these commercial services, Jabber is a decentralized network. It works similar to email servers in which anyone can download the Jabber server application and run it in their server to offer Jabber. Because of this, there is no global username, there is unique usernames on each server thus you can have multiple jabber accounts on different servers. The username is in the form of an email address. So, if I get a jabber account at jabberserverx.com then my jabber username would be myusername@jabberserverx.com. Each Jabber server can be configured differently to offer support for MSN, ICQ, AIM, IRC, Yahoo, Email Gateway and even File Transfer. You can find a grid of the Jabber servers and its supported protocols here. Why should you care about this? You should care because it’s open, free and it’s seems to be the only way to bring MSN Messenger into iChat.

Step 1 : make a MSN account

If you don’t have an MSN , you need to create one.

Step 2 : Get a Jabber Client App

Since iChat has only basic support for Jabber, you need a Jabber Client Application to create a Jabber account. You can use Psi, one of many Jabber Client Applications.

Go to PSI’s website http://psi-im.org/ and select the Mac OS version.

afbeelding-6.png

Step 3 : Create a Jabber Account

afbeelding-7.png

Enter jabber.freenet.de as your Jabber server.

Edit : use http://jabber.belnet.be/instead of jabber.freenet.de.

jabber.freenet.de. doesn’t appear to be working anymore.

afbeelding-8.png

Enter your desired account info. Notice how it looks just like if it was email address for that server. If the username is taken, it will let you know. Click on Register to continue.

Upon success, click OK.

Use Control + Click to get the contextual menu from the server’s name and make your status Online.

Step 4 : Register your IM Service with your Jabber server

Use Control + Click to get the contextual menu from the server’s name and select Service Discovery.

afbeelding-9.png

From the Service Directory window, Use Control + Click to get the contextual menu from the desired Service and select Register.

afbeelding-10.png

Enter your IM service login info. In this case, you can enter your MSN Messenger login info.

Once completed. Quit Psi and Launch Address Book.

Step 5 : Set up iChat for Jabber

From iChat, select the iChat Preferences. From the Accounts Panel, click add to Add a new Account.

Enter your Jabber account info.

Once the account is created. Select Jabber from the Window pulldown menu and make your Jabber status Available from the Jabber Buddy List.

From the Jabber Buddy List, Add a new buddy by clicking add button. It should find the Buddy we added earlier in the Address Book.

Search for your friend by typing their name on the search field then click on Select Buddy.

Done. You should now be able to chat with people on MSN Messenger right from iChat.

original post : http://allforces.com/2005/05/06/ichat-to-msn-through-jabber/

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

41 Responses to “iChat tip : MSN in ichat”

RSS Feed for Macmaster blog Comments RSS Feed

Also be aware that freenet can easily sniff and store your passwords and messages.

Why i can’t find any MSN service. I’m doing something wrong please help me

Did everything it tells you to do but on the service directory msn isn’t there

I have the same problem. MSN isn’t showing up ~

If in step 4 you cant find the MSN one, just go back to step 3 and register again but not to freenet.de, but another server, like i registered myusername@jabber.belnet.be and MSN came up in step 4 for that, i think the freenet.de server doesnt have MSN anymore

Hi there – I followed these instructions but am not seeing the msn service – what should I do?

I can not find any msn transport too! any one help me please?

can’t find the msn service , where the hell is it??

[...] other protocols through iChat, but the solution is a little more complicated. For more information, this tutorial is [...]

when i use ichat the jabber new account option is grayed out…

chris, are you under parental control?

hi im trying to use the jabber and i registered with freenet. de and didnt see msn so i tryed what you said about register again with jabber.belnet.be and i says i can’t connet to the server
what should i do thanks

forget this, just get adium.

well, p, adium is no good for video chat. Meebo.com does this, however.

it seems work to use msn in ichat through the jabber. But I can not video chat on msn. Any body can video chat on msn using ichat through jabber?

yes thankyou!!!!!!!

[...] You can use iChat to talk to people on MSN but it requires a bit of work. Read the instructions here. It may be a bit convoluted but it gets the job done if you are determined to use iChat. [...]

This doesn’t work at all for me I really need some help I’m not sure why it is not working when I discorvery search i find nothing it is blank. I don’t know what I am doing wrong help me.

Once I hit the add button I can’t find the buddy I added.

I can’t find the information that is said to be in the address book.

[...] to do it. I've used it for a while in the past (no longer use MSN period.) and it worked fine! MSN in iChat. iChat is what I prefer. I only use AIM. __________________ [...]

[...] other protocols through iChat, but the solution is a little more complicated. For more information, this tutorial is [...]

Wouldnt it be easier to use Messenger for mac ???

Like Xavi says above, it certainly would. That, or meebo dot com. Seriously, I don’t see how people are still complaining about this.

I think Ichat will eventually get support for messenger, I mean with ical now working with microsoft exchange.

Please help, want to use my ichat, but i dont know how, am using mac book pro

I just say “screw it” and use something like Adium or meebo.com…. or trillian.im……

[...] (to whom I can talk to through MSN). So don't tell me to switch to iChat. I'm actually trying this to use MSN on iChat but it doesn't seem to be working right. Any help would be awesome. [...]

it helped me a lot but am still struggling to get it right since there was no msn appearing in jabber list for me to register :(

How long does it take to complete the registration of msn

Okay, so I’m fine up until Step 4. Unlike most of the complaints, I have msn coming up as an option, but once I choose register, it constantly says “Fetching…” but never actually opens msn. Any idea on what could be wrong? Thank you for your help.

Can I use yahoo account for ichat on my mac powerbook?

msn comes up cannot register, no option..

Thanks for this tutorial, but currently the msn-ever of belnet.be is down. Too bad. It’s hard to find free jabber servers that support msn.

I too had an issue getting it all to work. Mostly with finding a Jabber server with MSN transport. Well, here is a link that lists jabber servers and their transports, http://www.jabberes.org/servers/. I chose to go with chrome.pl only because I was working my way down the list and it worked! It showed me a list of 41 contacts, 5 of which were those I was interested in. The next step is do they ever appear online in iChat….

Do you have 2 had a apple laptop 2 have ichat on your laptop ?

When i open address what do i do please help :) xxxx

its so greaat thanks for the tips

PPL! i found another jabber server tht works! so instead of typing in jabber.freenet.de, type in jabber.hot-chilli.net

Thanks, using jabber.hot-chilli.net works! :)

[...] iChat is a great chat application but it you can't add MSN contacts, but there's a trick to do this via Jabber. Since Mac os x Tiger iChat has Jabber support which indirectly supports other messaging protocols like MSN, ICQ, AIM and IRC. What is Jabber? Jabber is an open alternative to consumer IM services. Unlike these commercial services, Jabber is a decentralized network. It works similar to email servers in which anyone can download the Jabbe … Read More [...]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

